top of page

Artistic Alliance - November 17th - 23rd - Weekly Feature - Jessica Skarulis

It is time to meet our November 17th - 23rd, 2019, Weekly Feature Creative, Jessica!



Creative's Name: Jessica W. Skarulis

Type of Creative: Makeup Artist/Hair Stylist

Genres: Fashion & Event



Tell us about you! What is your story? Married, kids, fur babies? What things do you do besides your craft? I am newlywed, with three rescue mutts! Living in Orlando for about two years, originally from Birmingham, AL. I love to sing karaoke, frequent the local amusement parks and watch college football.

What has been the hardest part of being a photographer/model/makeup artist/hairstylist, etc? The hardest part of being a hair and makeup artist is carrying around a kit that weighs about 45 pounds thanks to my air compressor and tools. The hardest being a gig I needed to set up for on the second floor of a night club downtown. Keeping your social media accounts active and relevant as a creative is also challenging because it sometimes requires as much effort as a second job. I have been a professional hair and makeup artist, licensed in cosmetology, for 3 years.


What makes your passion shine and what are you most passionate about when you see your finished work? My passion is seen not only in photographs of my work but in the relationships, I believe within the creative community. I love all kinds of art and love being involved in whatever way I can. When I see a finished work of mine, I admire all of the moving pieces that had to come together to make it possible, as well as the magic of transforming someone into living, walking art!

Would you change anything that you have learned? What kind of legacy do you want to leave behind with your work? Having dabbled in hair and makeup arts all through my early adulthood, if I could go back and change anything, it would simply be to return to school sooner. To throw myself into the industry sooner. Take the leap! I hope to leave behind a legacy of quality and kindness. It doesn't cost me any extra time or money to be kind and supportive of all of my fellow artists.


Among your works, which is your favorite & why? The editorial hairstylists I created for the Sidney Bruce boutique lifestyle shoot are a standout in my hair work. The texture and shapes were ethereal meets vintage, and I was very proud to be the sole stylist for the 7 looks on 5 models. My makeup favorites will always be looks from haunted houses. I also spent many years acting at a haunted attraction, so being on this side of the chair nowadays, I have a deep respect for the characters the actors create and love the dynamics of airbrush work combined with prosthetics of blood/uv reactive elements.

What inspires you? Who's work has influenced you most? What is the most rewarding part for you? My late father is my inspiration. No one is promised tomorrow, so do it today! He always supported my love for the arts, no matter the style or venue. The most rewarding part of my art is the confidence I've gained in the last couple of years. I finally have followed my gut, and just on for what I am passionate about. It is paying off in my work and outside of it.


Tell us something we wouldn't know about you, from looking at your portfolio. I love coffee more than most things on earth, and will never say no to another cup! I also work really well with and have a deep respect for seniors. Art is something for all ages and I have to incorporate this belief into my work in a more tangible way soon.

What advice do you have for people just starting out? Just go for it. If you see the opportunity, take it. There are people with less talent but more confidence than you - so if you don't step up, you will miss out. Put yourself in the room you want to be in, then network your butt off.


Thank you, Jessica, for sharing your creative journey with us! We love having you as part of the Artistic Alliance Community!

bottom of page