top of page

Artistic Alliance - May 17th - 23rd - Weekly Feature - Samuel Goodwin

It is time to meet our May 17th - 23rd, 2020, Weekly Feature Creative, Samuel!


Creative's Name: Samuel Goodwin

Type of Creative: Photographer

Genres: Lingerie/Boudoir/Nude, Portrait, Weddings & Event



Tell us about you! What is your story? Married, kids, fur babies? What things do you do besides your craft? I'm 25, engaged (to be married this year!) I'm a full-time chef at Walt Disney World, but I love to play video games (Rocket League, World of Warcraft, and Call of Duty mainly).


Be straight with us...what brand do you use? What is your favorite piece of gear - lens, camera body, etc? I'm a Canon guy through and through. The current body is the EOS R, and my favorite lens has to be my Sigma 85mm f/1.4 ART, but my RF 35mm 1.8 macro is catching up FAST.


What editing programs do you use? Photoshop/Lightroom mainly, but I use others when the situations demand it.


When you go on one of your travels, where do you go & what gear do you bring with you? I try to travel light, so I'll take my body, 24-70mm, and 35mm for macro stuff.


What has been the hardest part of being a photographer? How long have you been a photographer? The hardest part for me is staying motivated. I've only been at this for about 6 years.

What makes your passion shine and what are you most passionate about when you see your finished work? I've been humbled by an opportunity to work with a dance/performance team over the last few years and being able to share with them the images I take and composites I do, blows them away. They have such a passion and energy that you can't help but match when working with them.


Would you change anything that you have learned? What kind of legacy do you want to leave behind with your work? I wish I'd learned what I knew about low light sports photography sooner. I want my legacy to be remembered as boundary-breaking.


Among your works, which your favorite & why? I have a long exposure of spider lightning over Disney, that's one of my favorites that I've ever taken purely because of the blend of luck and skill required to pull the shot off.

What inspires you? Who's work has influenced you most? What is the most rewarding part for you? I take inspiration from a ton of places, but a few that come to mind are Disney Instagrammers like @laagh and @disneyonthelow, they're constantly pushing people to be better photographers. It's an amazing community.


Tell us something we wouldn't know about you, from looking at your portfolio. I'm extremely awkward and introverted. Once my camera is in my hands it gives me another level of confidence I don't normally have.


What advice do you have for people just starting out? Learn from as many different people as you can.

What is one accomplishment you achieved this year? Working for the Academy of Villians is definitely the highlight.


Thank you, Sam, for sharing your creative journey with us! We love having you as part of the Artistic Alliance Community!

bottom of page