top of page

Artistic Alliance - June 21st - June 27th - Weekly Feature - Mahesh Shikarpuri

It is time to meet our June 21st - June 27th, Weekly Feature Creative, Mahesh!

Creative's Name: Mahesh Shikarpuri

Type of Creative: Photographer

Genres: Lifestyle/Candid, Portrait



Tell us about you! What is your story? Married, kids, fur babies? What things do you do besides your craft? Semi-pro photographer who has enjoyed photography for a very long time. I grew up taking pictures on my dad's old Yashica camera. My interest really grew after I had my kids of my own. I started teaching myself how to take pictures and learned the basics behind photography. When I am not working or taking pictures, I enjoy spending time with my wife and kids.


Be straight with us... what brand do you use? What is your favorite piece of gear? I am all-in on Nikon. The favorite lens is the Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II.


When you go on one of your travels, where do you go & what gear do you bring with you? Whether I travel with family or business, I try to get up in the morning and take sunrise shots. Default gear is Nikon D610 with Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8E ED VR and a speed light.


What editing programs do you use? Lightroom


What has been the hardest part of being a photographer? How long have you been a photographer? The hardest part for me is finding the time. I like to learn by getting hands-on experience, but I consider myself semi-pro with approximately 8 years of experience.


What makes your passion shine and what are you most passionate about when you see your finished work? I am passionate about learning and I want to achieve perfection in whatever I do. Like anything in life, practice makes perfect. I volunteer for lot of events in the community and try to capture candid moments, that otherwise, go unnoticed.


Would you change anything that you have learned? What kind of legacy do you want to leave behind with your work? No, I wouldn't change anything. I'd just like an opportunity and platform to showcase my work.


Among your works, which is your favorite & why? My favorite is and always will be taking pictures of my kids. They make good models and gives me a chance to spend time with them.

What inspires you? Who's work had influenced you most? What is the most rewarding part for you? I take my inspiration from others, whether it's photographers I meet at meet-up groups or virtually online. I follow various social-media groups and I am influenced by watching work of the great artists around the world. I also try to learn from Nikon's "Learn and Explore" DIY tutorials. Client satisfaction is what drives me to continue working hard.


Tell us something we wouldn't know about you, from looking at your portfolio. I enjoy shooting wildlife photography just as much as shooting models.


What advice do you have for people just starting out? Take your hobby, passion, and work seriously. Learn from your mistakes and learn how to take criticism.

What is one accomplishment you achieved this year? I've started to explore and incorporate B&W work in my portfolio.


Thank you, Mahesh, for sharing your creative journey with us! We love having you as part of the Artistic Alliance Community!

bottom of page