top of page

Artistic Alliance - August 11th to August 17th - Weekly Feature - Cheryl Cox

Updated: Dec 4, 2019

It is time to meet our August 11th - August 17th, 2019, Weekly Feature Creative, Cheryl!



Creative's Name: Cheryl Cox

Stage Name: Aerial Cheryl

Business Name: Focused on Flight

Type of Creative: Model & Photographer

Genres: Lifestyle/Candid, Sports, Event & Performance



Tell us about you! What is your story? Married, kids, fur babies? What things do you do besides your craft? As a multi-passionate, multi-faceted individual, there are a number of places and things I am interested in. I am an aerialist, dancer and stunt performer. I am also a wife to an incredible husband and caretaker to a gorgeous orange tabby. Wake-boarding is my release of extra energy and every now and then, I'll curl up in the corner of the couch with a good book.


PHOTOGRAPHERS... be straight with us... what brand do you use? What is your favorite piece of gear - lens, camera body, etc? I have a Sony a7rii with the Zeiss 24-70mm f/4 lens as my every day package. Most performances are captured on the Sony 70-200mm f/2.8 and headshots on an 85mm or 50mm f/1.8. I also have a fully manual 135mm f/2 that I'll play with every now and then.


PHOTOGRAPHERS... when you go on one of your travels, where do you go & what gear do you bring with you? The 24-70 and 70-200 cover everything for me.


PHOTOGRAPHERS/VIDEOGRAPHERS... What editing programs do you use? I have the full Adobe Creative Cloud and still have a lot of learn.


What has been the hardest part of being a photographer/model? How long have you been a photographer/model? Since I typically photograph live performances, I have very little control over angles and lighting and have to figure out how to make it work.


What makes your passion shine and what are you most passionate about when you see your finished work? Because I am a performer first, I know how critical we can be of photos and how challenging our work can be to capture. I get so excited when I know I've grabbed the precise moment of full extension in a split or jump and I just know the performer is going to love it.


Would you change anything you have learned? What kind of legacy do you want to leave behind with your work? I want to show performers what they really look like doing their acts. We live and breathe this stuff and sometimes it feels like no one is actually seeing the work. I want my photographs to document those incredible moments on stage so a dancer, aerialist, etc can have proof that it happened.


Among your works, which is your favorite & why? When I can capture a moving artist in complete clarity - it's magic. It's a frozen moment in time, that they probably got lost in and I want them to have that moment forever.


What inspires you? Who's work has influenced you most? What is the most rewarding part for you? A long time ago, someone captured the most beautiful and clear photos of a show I did and I was just blown away. I didn't think those kinds of shots were possible outside of a studio setting. I want to make sure that other performing artists know that their work can be captured and shared with clarity and authenticity.


Tell us something we wouldn't know about you, from looking at your portfolio. I know next to nothing about editing software. I'm just beginning to get into it, so all of my photos are taken with the intent that they have to be perfect in camera. I also rarely use burst modes, preferring to anticipate the moment more precisely.


What advice do you have for people just starting out? Just jump in! If you find yourself interested in photography, grab a camera and go for a walk. Play with the settings, take pictures of anything that catches your eye. Study a new technique then go out and play with it, try it out. Doing the work is what gets your better.



Thank you Cheryl for sharing your creative journey with us! We love having you as part of the Artistic Alliance Community!

bottom of page