top of page

Artistic Alliance - Sept 13th - Sept 19th - Weekly Feature - Connor Carlson

It is time to meet our September 13th - September 19th, Weekly Feature Creative, Connor!


Creative's Name: Connor Carlson

Type of Creative: Photographer/Model

Genres: Weddings/Styled Shoots, Lingerie/Candid/Fashion, Lingerie/Boudoir/Swimwear



Tell us about you! What is your story? Married, kids, fur babies? What things do you do besides your craft? I call myself the monarch because I was once a sad, insecure, hopeless caterpillar. I lost my hair at the age of 11 due to a rare autoimmune disorder known as alopecia. Years of feeling alone lead me to seclusion, depression, and toxic addictions. After a hallucinogenic awakening at the festival, Electric Forest. I threw away my degree as a chemist to pursue modeling so that my story is used to impact as many as I possibly can. Since 2017, I have spoken at many events for people with alopecia, competed in American Ninja Warrior, modeled for LIDS apparel, walked in a handful of fashion shows, and now run my own creative digital agency. Aside from my business and inspiring the world, I love talking philosophy with my friends, doing QiGong in a park, or you can catch me coasting around town on my longboard. Oh, I have a cat and love him dearly.

Be straight with us... which brand do you use? What is your favorite piece of gear - lens, camera body, etc? Nikon fo dayssss my fav lens is the 70-300mm


When you travel, where do you go & what gear do you bring with you? I usually find abandoned buildings, alleyways, or places where people aren't allowed to go... shhh... I usually bring with me my Nikon and 2 lenses and utilize natural lighting.


What editing programs do you use? Lightroom and Picsart

What has been the hardest part of being a photographer/model? How long have you been working your craft? For me, it has always been, how do I increase my price and what would I raise it to. I believe these questions are directly related to self-worth as an artist. Since I've started, I modeled and shot photography for free to gain experience in both, and now that it has been three years, I can successfully say I've been paid more than I'd dreamed of in both industries.

What makes your passion shine and what are you most passionate about when you see your finished work? Whenever I model, I model with emotion. I am not a one pose man, I like to use my modeling to heal old wounds. What I mean by that is, when I model with an emotion of sadness that is tied to a moment in my past that caused me a lot of pain, it's almost as if I release it at that moment. I no longer hold onto the pain that it was. I am most passionate about what I can control, the way I pose, and the quality of emotional expression.


Would you change anything you have learned? Name one thing that you've learned along the way that you wish you would have learned sooner. Network, ask questions, never stop learning! The sky is a level... not a limit.


Among your works, which is your favorite & why? I love whenever I am transformed into another character, my most favorite cosplay that I've done was Mr. Jack Skellington from The Nightmare Before Christmas.


What is your inspiration? What is the most rewarding part for you? My inspiration is a few things, first, to be a better me each day. I am always evolving and it is near to see my work compared to a year ago. And second, having someone come to me saying the work I made moved them in a way. When I release art, I release it to the world. The world is either ready or not.

Modeling is a competitive field. What makes you stand out from the others? I don't have a single hair on my body with my autoimmune disorder known as Alopecia. I am also a professional photographer, so I am able to work fluidly on both sides of the lens.


What is your greatest strength? Where would you like to see yourself this time next year? Networking. I can see myself having produced several magazines, having begun my own fashion line, and set foot in Italy to model for some of the world's hottest high-end brands.


Tell us something we wouldn't know about you, from looking at your portfolio. I traveled out of my bag for three years, slept on the floor in some homes for weeks at a time. I was wildly stubborn and committed fully to working as a full-time artist.


What advice do you have for Creative's just starting out? Start creating and don't ever stop. Create as if creating is the water to your world.


Thank you, Connor, for sharing your creative journey with us! We love having you as part of the Artistic Alliance Community!

bottom of page